Toronto Feminists

Skater boys

Another meetup group that I’m involved in is the Toronto Ice Skating Meetup.  I’m just blown away by the fact that – really consistently – the biggest number of attendees are guys.  I really had assumed when I started the group, that it would mostly attract a female crowd.  For the most part they seem to be straight guys, too.  Which means, I noticed that because I the corollary assumption to “skating is a girl thing” is “the next closest thing to a girl is a gay boy.”  So, now I’m trying to explain this to myself, to readjust my preconceptions re: skating and gender.

Oh, and as an aside:  I was telling the SO about this, and he said he’s more surprised at guys who belong to meetups than at guys who want to skate.  Verrrrry interesting.

Written by torontofeminists

December 6, 2007 at 4:42 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

