Toronto Feminists

Watching the race

Alright, So Hillary has won in New Hampshire and naturally this is opening up all kinds of discussions on Hillary as president, what a female president means and whether or not sexism plays any role in elections.  Some interesting pieces to read are Maureen O’Dowd  and Gloria Steinham’s  op-ed pieces in the New York Times today as well as following the discussion going on at the XX factor blog  at Slate.com.

Sexism is hard to talk about in our society and this presidential race is providing excellent commentary and room for discussion. One example that they’ve brought up is how ingrained sexism is -the ‘seemingly’ sexist remarks  hurled at Hillary.  Some have speculated that the newspaper couched the report with a ‘seemingly’ because it was possible the Clinton camp had planted these guys to stir up gender sympathy. And many commentators have rightly said Hey, if guys were yelling racist comments at Obama would a national newspaper report it as ‘seemingly’ racist remarks?  Unlikely, there would be uproar and outrage.     

As for the footage of Hillary ‘seemingly’ crying, I haven’t looked it up and I don’t really feel the need to since no tears actually fell but apparently glistened in her eyes for all of 10 or 15 seconds.  That prompted John Edwards  to question her ability to be president if she cries.  Really?  Say ‘good bye’ to the Oval Office Hillary because your lacrimal glands are working overtime!  Shit, I’ve gone into full on sobbing when I run out of coffee for pete’s sake and I’ve never questioned my competence (although I do question my caffeine addiction).  But yet again the double standard that is frequently mentioned and quickly shrugged off remains -being strong and stoic makes her inhuman and unpopular yet the slightest show of emotion renders her incompetent.

Garr…I’m frustrated just reading all this I can’t imagine the strength it requires to be the focus of it!  I’ll just go somewhere and cry J

 -nichole  

Written by outdoorsgrrl

January 9, 2008 at 3:42 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yeah, frustrating and stupid, but honestly I can’t believe that it’ll sway the vote, which is heartening.

    I think it’s pretty exciting that chances are there’ll be either the first woman or first person of colour in office. And my brain doesn’t even register the other possibility.

    Tara

    January 9, 2008 at 8:56 pm


Comments are closed.

