Toronto Feminists

I met her in a club down in old soho…

An interesting piece from the NYTimes about gender identity -this focuses on a particular transmale’s experience growing up, attending an all-women college and transitioning.  Just more to chew on given our discussion about gender spaces -is it appropriate for a person who no longer identifies as female to attend a women-only college? 

-nichole

Written by outdoorsgrrl

March 17, 2008 at 2:30 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The NYT just has the best freakin’ articles. That said, it certainly didn’t ‘clear anything up’ but it pointed to a lot of really interesting complications within these issues. The point about a lot of women being traditional, conservative and ‘archly feminine’ was just beautifully resonant. But then kind of balanced by the piece of information that these colleges have historically had a dual nature as both ‘finishing school and hotbed of feminism’. I think that’s how it was written.
    Is it appropriate? To me, I think the answer is “I dunno, but I can’t see why not.” Which is pretty much what I would have said before.

    Tara

    March 18, 2008 at 3:17 am


Comments are closed.

